

THE STATES assembled on Monday 3rd November 2014, at 11.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Sir Michael Birt.

His Excellency the Lieutenant Governor, General Sir John McColl, K.C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O. was present.

All members were present at roll call.
Prayers

Filming in the Chamber

THE STATES noted that the media had been permitted to film part of the proceedings on the occasion of the first meeting of the new States and the election of the Chief Minister.

Service of Dedication - thanks

The Bailiff, on behalf of all members, thanked the Dean of Jersey and all those involved in the organisation of the Service of Dedication which had been held at the St. Helier Parish Church prior to the meeting.

Referendum results

The Bailiff, in accordance with Article 6(7) of the Referendum (Composition of the States Assembly) (Jersey) Act 2014, reported the result of the referendum held on Wednesday 15th October as follows –

There were **24,130** valid ballot papers.

There were 148 invalid ballot papers (spoilt papers).

The total number of valid votes in favour was –

15,069 votes, being 62.4% of the total number of valid votes cast.

The total number of valid votes against was –

9,061 votes, being 37.6% of the total number of valid votes cast.

Acting Greffier of the States

The Bailiff informed the Assembly that, in accordance with Article 41(15) of the States of Jersey Law 2005, he had appointed the Assistant Greffier of the States, Mrs. Anna Goodyear, to discharge the functions of the Greffier of the States and the Deputy Greffier of the States in the event of their absence or incapacity and had administered the appropriate oath to Mrs. Goodyear on 31st October 2014, in accordance with the provisions of Article 41(17) of the Law.

535 Price code: A

STATES MINUTES 3rd November 2014

Tribute to the late Mr. Robin Hacquoil, former member of the States

The Bailiff paid tribute to the late Mr. Robin Hacquoil, former Deputy of St. Peter.

The States observed one minute's silence as a mark of respect.

Chief Minister designate - nominations and selection

THE STATES noted that, in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 115(1), one nomination for the post of Chief Minister had been received by the Greffier of the States. The member nominated was Senator Ian Joseph Gorst.

The nomination of Senator Gorst was made by the following 7 members –

Senator Paul Francis Routier, M.B.E.
Senator Alan John Henry Maclean
Senator Andrew Kenneth Francis Green, M.B.E.
Connétable Deidre Wendy Mezbourian of St. Lawrence
Connétable Juliette Gallichan of St. Mary
Deputy Edward James Noel of St. Lawrence
Deputy Stephen George Luce of St. Martin.

The Bailiff accordingly declared that Senator Ian Joseph Gorst had been duly elected as the Chief Minister designate. Following a request by Senator Paul Francis Routier, M.B.E., the Chief Minister designate made a statement for 10 minutes, which was then followed by an hour-long question period.

THE STATES rose at 12.58 p.m.

M.N. DE LA HAYE, O.B.E.

Greffier of the States